For many years, celebrities have been major influencers to a wide range of people around the world. It is also believed by many people that children are the most influenced by them. Furthermore, extensive media coverage of these celebrities has had a negative impact on children. In my opinion, most of the children are a target of celebrity influence in a negative way.

As we are aware, celebrities these days not only feature in movies but also endorse various brands. Children who have a liking towards a specific celebrity prefer using these brands. For instance, since Shah Rukh Khan promotes LUX soap, his follower will prefer purchasing the same. Moreover, children these days also consider having a hairstyle similar to their favorite celebrity. Also, children watch movies and mimic dialogues while playing with their friends. These adaptations however do not have a good impact on children as they grow older.

As media content is unfiltered, children learn things that may not be appropriate to their age. Children imitate what they see in movies and on television which has a negative impact on their overall development. For instance, young children have started applying make-up which may have an adverse effect on their skin in the future. To add with, children have developed smoking habits at a young age as their favorite celebrity smokes too. Children have also started demanding expensive stylish clothes as they want to represent the style of a famous celebrity.

To conclude, I completely agree that the media coverage of celebrities has a negative impact on children. To make things worse, it is very easy for children to be influenced as they are too young to realise what is right and what is wrong.