Many people believe that in order to have clean and tidy streets in their neighbourhood, this should be the residents’ responsibility, while others think it should be the government’s duty. What is your opinion?

In today’s world, most countries have shown great concern about the pollution in the streets. When this issue comes into views, there exists many conflicting opinions. Some people strongly agree that cleaning the streets is the task of residents. Meanwhile, others share the view that this is the responsibility of governments. Both of the views have their own merits which require careful consideration.

On the one hand, some people support the view that tidying streets is the task of government. This is because the government received a large sum of money paid for cleaning tax from citizens. According to the Litter and the Law article, the cost to the taxpayers in the UK for street cleaning is over £1 billion a year. Therefore, the government should take actions to deserve the number of money they accepted for this issue.

On the other hand, some argue that residents may be in charge of cleaning their streets. One explanation to support this point is that people dumped a large amount of rubbish into their streets every day. In reality, official reports indicate that more than 2 million pieces of litter are discharged in the road of residential areas in the UK every day. Obviously, the bulk of rubbish in the streets arises from the activities of residents. Consequently, people should take responsibility for their actions.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that cleaning the streets is not only the task of individuals but also governments. However, from my perspective, I share the opinion that in this field, the duty of citizens dominates this of governments.