Many people believe that the public libraries should only provide books and should not waste their money on expensive hi-tech media, such as software, DVD's or videos. Do you agree or disagree?

it cannot be denied that public libraries are important in our lives. however, there is a group of people who suggest that those institutions should not waste their money on up-to-date technology such as software, DVDs or videos. In my opinion, this idea should not be encouraged because it can bring many negative effects to both the libraries and their users.

To start with, applying high-tech media assists public libraries to update and expand the sources of knowledge for users as soon as possible. In terms of providing books for readers, they need to involve in different steps to receive products from other press. Hence, it takes a large amount of time for readers to get access to the latest information or research. For example, some books in Russian need to be translated into English or Vietnamese before reaching the readers; however, libraries are able to update directly those original versions on their websites or fan pages for their customers without waiting for printed books.

Moreover, with higher technology adapted, library users have more opportunities to use documents in various fields and in every language. Instead of spending hours walking through a huge amount of bookshelves in the library to find suitable references, just by clicking and searching on the Internet, people can get their needs more easily and save more time. this way is much more convenient for researchers or students as well as librarians to manage all kinds of titles in the library. In addition, the librarians possess the ability to control the borrowed books and the returned book effectively.

In conclusion, the world is going to the 5.0 industrial revolution so investing money in expensive hi-tech media in public libraries is significant. it is not waste, it it is used for development.