Many people believe that schools should teach children to become good citizens and workers rather than independent individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion and relevant examples.

A commonly held belief is that schools should be the places for children to learn how to become a good member of society. Personally, I partly agree with this argument and believe that those education centers should focus more on educating a kid to become a self-reliance person.

Initially, we can not deny the fact that the sustainable development of a country has to base on a suitable education system. This system is usually proposed by a board of country best educators to meet government’s requirement on future workforce. After being approved, it will be announced for teachers, trainers or coaches to follow. Thanks for this way of quality control in teaching, good core values for working such as sense of responsibility, hard-working or kindness will be spread and create a strong foundation for the growth of society.

However, this theory on education brings an obvious disadvantage to the human evolution because it will hold back creativity. To teach children to become good workers for country or companies means that they will be trained in the same way in order to be similar people in the future. This can not provide them the environment to develop self – understanding and independent characteristics which are sometimes opposite standards of society but necessary for becoming a creator. One case in point is the well know architect Tadao Ando, who won Prizker prize (the most honor prize for architect in Europe) used to be described as an impatient and uncooperative staff when he was young.

In conclusion, I agree that educating kids to be good citizens is necessary for society, but teaching them to be independent should not be under evaluate in any education system.