Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are a lot of people who assume that scientific projects should be surveyed and conducted under the scrutiny of authoritative agencies rather than private entities due to some reasons. However, I totally disapprove of that statement.

It is understandable why many people insist that governments should be responsible for major scientific research instead of individual companies. First, as governments can fund researchers to help them complete their projects in a short period of time without abruptly postponing, people tend to lay their trust in them. Moreover, governments are more reliable in calling on financial support from other organizations in order to help their researchers fulfill scientific projects more effectively and effortlessly. Finally, since a part of funding research, may stem from revenue tax, people want their tax money spent appropriately and under the control of the government.

Though there are some sensible reasons for governments to oversee all scientific research, I am convinced that private entities can also do much better than that. To cite an example, a private corporation based in the United States, whose name is Pfizer, was successful in mass-producing vaccines for Covid-19 in 2021. Noticeably, the company does not belong to its government but is self-reliant. Furthermore, every expert and researcher in that company contributed to finding out a cure for Covid-19 and got recognized by WHO.

To summarize, while many people feel that governments should oversee key scientific research rather than individual firms, I believe that either authoritative agencies or individuals must be in charge of scientific endeavors.