Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the context that science has become one of the top-tier concerns of each nation, a school of thought holds that scientific projects should be conducted and governed by national institutions rather than private organizations. From my perspective, I concur with this assertion as two main reasons related to budget and management problems will be elaborated on in this essay.

To commence with, it is governments that can ensure a sound financial source for high-costing scientific research programs. Indeed, executing such projects involves a huge amount of money invested in from facilities and equipment to educational programs training talents in this field. Moreover, scientific projects prolong even several years and are likely to have uncertain results. Therefore, if it is assigned to private companies, they may suffer from bankruptcy when such projects fail. To illustrate, in the US, most civil space programs, aeronautics research, and space research are conducted by NASA which is a United States federal government agency.

In addition, one aspect worth mentioning is that scientific achievements should undergo vigorous administration by national authorities instead of independent firms because of security and social purposes. First and foremost, some scientific research areas concerning human and even national safety may result in detrimental effects if are controlled loosely by private companies. The most prime example may be nuclear experiments which can cause radiation leaks and affect human health, even being passed down through generations if the infrastructure is not carefully maintained. Secondly, scientific achievements should serve a public purpose while private companies tend to make use of them as commercial activities to gain profit. As a result, only the prosperous can access scientific betterment while the rest of the world live in backward condition leading to an unequal society.

In conclusion, it has been argued that governments should be responsible for scientific research and I side with this opinion as this facilitates certainty in investment cost and prevents side-effects regarding security and equal social development.