In some countries, people are having children at a later age in life. What are the reasons? Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In modern society, many people decide to give birth at an older age in life. From my point of view, this results from various reasons which will be elaborated on in this essay and the advantages should be considered more than the drawbacks.

To commence with, there are two primary factors contributing to delayed childbirth. First and foremost, in the context of the developed world, young adults spend the first years of their adulthood laying a concrete foundation for their careers so they have less time for having babies. For instance, Japan is the country facing with old population matter because adults do not have much time for their childbirth plan apart from work and education. The second reason worth mentioning is the increasing financial responsibilities of raising a child. It is evident from the ascending inflation rate and price hikes in accommodation, nourishment, medical care, clothes, and education fees for babies. Therefore, many young people prioritize saving and establishing sound financial sources before embarking on parenthood.

Positive and negative impacts are equally likely to occur as a result of late childbirth. One of the main drawbacks is that the longer the childbirth deferment is, the more health risks women may face, such as the risk of miscarriage or premature birth. However, such dangers could be prevented rest on advanced medical technology, such as egg freezing, which could help women reserve the healthiest eggs used for pregnancy. Therefore, I still suppose that this late parenthood trend exerts more advantages. Firstly, it brings to the betterment of life quality for children if they are born to prosperous and experienced parents. Indeed, in some rural areas, many young women are pregnant when they are even teenagers and cannot rear a child effectively which results in the fact that more children suffer diseases and cannot access comprehensive education. Secondly, this trend creates opportunities for adults to focus on their careers during their youth which is the best time for people to broaden their knowledge, and achieve certain professional milestones. In contrast, if they get married and have babies earlier, they have to assume a full burden for their families and it is quite difficult to balance between life and work.

In conclusion, people in some countries do not put the top priority on having children at an earlier age due to their high regard for their careers and the belief that a better financial state will be better for a child. I assume the positive effects outweigh the demerits.