Many people believe that universities should be for students with at least 1 or 2 gap years working outside to find out their real ambition and suitable ability while others think that students should enter into universities or colleges right after graduating from high schools to avoid forgetting knowledge and passion of learning. Which opinion do you agree with and why?

A lot of people consider that pupils should take one to two gap years to experience other works to realize what they honestly want to do in the future. However, others believe that the sooner youths go to universities or colleges, the less they let slip from memory what they learned at school and lose the love of studying. I agree with the first opinion.

Firstly, taking a gap year means students can have more time to figure out what they are suitable for, it is efficient especially when some countries’ tertiary education fees are expensive. Some graduates don’t figure out what they want to do until it’s too late and they have already paid for an education, so there only options are to either stick with the career that they can get into with the degree they have or to go back to school and obtain yet another college degree.

Moreover, a gap year allows students to earn money, and if youngsters get a job that is loosely related to the course they want to study then they will add even more value to their gap year. Besides, pupils will have the chance to gain volunteer experience, which can provide them with heaps of invaluable experience that won’t go unnoticed by future employers. Last but not least, volunteering and working a job will teach youths about money management and the worth of what they put effort to do. By taking a gap year, they will be able to be independent and to set their schedule.

In conclusion, if undergraduates decide to take a gap year before entering any universities or colleges, they give themselves to have a chance to explore their ambitions and suitabilities.