Many people choose to live alone. What do you think the advantages of living alone are and do they outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people, especially young people live alone nowadays because they think it might give them more freedom and they can be independent. These reasons are true to some extent; however, I believe the disadvantages override the benefits because people who live alone will have to deal with emergency situations and all house chores by themselves.

People who choose to live alone assert they can enjoy freedom and independent from their families. They can do whatever they want anytime because there is no one who nags them about spending time on video games or staying up late. Also, it is possible for them to make decisions without any conflicts. When a person lives with his family, he has to persuade someone to agree with his opinion or sometimes give up his own idea to avoid conflicts if there is a disparity of opinion. Living alone gives a chance to escape from such annoying and stressful situations to those who have difficulty to deal with people. Further to that, people are able to improve their life-managing skills greatly. They might also learn how to cook and realise they have to clean regularly to keep their home clean. By facing several problems which they've never experienced when living with their parents, they can mature by learning how to overcome difficulties by themselves. Therefore, living alone helps people to live both freely and independently.

Despite these benefits, there are some overwhelming disadvantages as people ought to deal with emergency situations and every day house work alone. There are times when other people's support and help are necessary. Situations of illness for example, are usually difficult to endure alone. People cannot take enough rest because they are not accustomed to juggling house chores and taking care of themselves. This can be more serious if a person does not have much information about their condition or a hospital is far from his home. Also, people cannot share house work with their families. They have to manage different types of work in a limited time which might make feel under pressure. Although it is true that people become familiar with the jobs, they experience problems continuously until they master coping with them. It's definitely difficult to manage all things, including difficult situations like sudden illness alone.

In conclusion, living alone provides benefits by ensuring freedom and helping people become independent. Despite these advantages, I'm sure they are offset by disadvantages because people should face difficulties of house chores by disadvantages because people should face difficulties of house chores and emergency situations without anyone's help.