Many people in the community now could buy consumer goods being cheaper. Whether the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, there is a common phenomenon that the prices of products have been decreased thanks to the advent of modern technology. A point of debate is whether its advantages have overshadowed the disadvantages or. While there is a strong case for the former view, I am more inclined to the latter.

On the one hand, those in favour of cheaper goods may state their reasons as follows. Firstly, the fact that people are able to purchase less expensive items means that they can save a huge amount of money for other basic necessities. For example, they can devote more money to healthcare service or their children’s education. Furthermore, cheaper products will stimulate consumers desire to buy more. As a result, companies will earn more profits and expand, contributing to economic progress of a nation.

On the other hand, I would advocate with those who contend that making products cheaper will mislead customers to make a wrong decision on what they need to buy. Along with the capability of purchasing products at low-cost prices, buyers tend to make impulse shopping and thus, waste a great deal of money on useless items. This is often the case during sale seasons or in particularly, Tet holiday in Viet Nam. When suppermarkets are filled with loads of discounted goods which tempt shoppers to buy more beyond their needs. Another drawback would be that this newly-emerged trend will probaly impose an obstacle to manufacturers who make every effort to offer cheap prices even by cutting down on their yearly turnovers. Evenworse, if coroporations fail to meet the public’s demands, there might be a lack of consumer goods corrolating to inflation and other economic problems.

In conclusion, although it is undeniable that making products less expensive have tremendous influences on each individual embodied the society, I believe that this development should be taken into consideration as it might exert some detrimental effects.