Global warming is one of the most serious issues that the world is facing today. What are the causes of global warming and what measures can governments and individuals take to tackle the issue?

The increasing temperature of the world has become a matter of concern in recent years. Although there are inevitable driving forces of this worrying trend, measures can be taken to mitigate them.

To begin, the major culprit of why the Earth becomes increasingly warmer is greenhouse effect caused by carbon dioxide emissions from industrial activities burning fossil-based fuels. For instance, oil industry releases a huge amount of greenhouse gases into the air yearly, leaving carbon footprint in the atmosphere. A further element leading to this problem is that with the hustle and bustle of modern life, metropolitan inhabitants tend to drive vehicles which are not environmentally-friendly such as cars and motorbikes due to its convenience and flexibility. Moreover, as industry expansions lead to the need for more land resource to construct factories, massive deforestation can be witnessed. Since there are not enough trees left to absorb CO2, the proportion between CO2 and O2 in the atmosphere will be instable, worsening the situation.

However, there are several actions that governments and citizens could take into account to solve the aforementioned problem. First of all, each individuals can change their lifestyle towards environmental protection. For instance, we can use eco-friendly means of transportation such as electric cars. We can even take this further by car pooling when sharing the same destination. Another measure worth investing in is low-carbon economies. The governments should encourage enterprises to use alternative sources of power including solar and wind energy. Finally, they should impose stricter punishments as a deterrent against illegal logging activities.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that industry expansion and people’s habit are responsible for global warming. Yet, various measures can be taken to tackle this pressing issue.