Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crimes, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishments.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Feasible methods to confront the accelerating rate of crimes have become a highly debated topic recently. While some people side with inflexible sentences, I find it more convincing to believe that punishments should take into account hidden reasons for law-breaking actions and criminals’ personal backgrounds.

On the one hand, there are various reasons why some people believe that making punishments irrevocable can save a great deal of time and money. This is due to the fact that prosecutors might not need to hire attorney for plaintiff and that jury trials which is extremely time-consuming. Meanwhile, a large portion of governmental investment can be prioritise to improve public facilities and infrastructure. For example, developed countries such as Japan, who have strict civil law, has emphasised the science education of their own citizens. This strong focus has lead to scientific discovery fostering innovation and increasing productivity, which directly contributes to the prosperity and stability of the whole society.

On the other hand, I would advocate with those who contend that flexible sentences may bring some possible advantages. First and foremost, we have long experienced a history of cases when perpetrators have either lacked awareness or suffered from mental issues. In this case, instead of capital punishment or death penalty, psychiatric treatments and proper education should be suitable for them so as not to reoffend. This is often the case in teenagers as the accelerating rate of juvenile deliquencies is corrolated to the lack of parental guidance and supervisor. Therefore, they tend to commit illegal actions including vandalism and alcohol abuse. Another reason would be that peer pressure catalysing their desire to try on new experiences even if it might lead to committing crimes. Finally, it has long experienced a history of cases where perpetrators plead for mercy and show regrets. In these case, capital punishment or death penalty is unecessary.

In conclusion, there have been many social unrests to solve the riddle of which approach is more beneficial for a nation. While there is a strong case for fixed sanctions, I am more inclined to the view that crimes should be considered in many aspects including the motivation for committing before returning a verdict.