University education should be free to everyone, regardless of income.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there is a phenomenon that universities stop charging students for tuition fees. While there is a strong case for this strategy, I believe that tertiary education should still cost, but at an affordable price for people from all walks of life.

On the one hand, those against this policy would state their reasons that free university education would bring two main drawbacks. The most obvious would be that as students do not have to pay for colleges, there is a lack of university finances to provide its students with modern facilities and equipment leading negative effects on teaching quality. Another noticeable negative aspect of this policy is that students might lose their motivation to study due to the fact that they can re-sit an exam whenever they want without being concerned about their financial duties.

On the other hand, I would advocate with those who contend that without higher education costs, everyone can go to universities regardless of their financial background. This would lead to more educated citizens and qualified workers who can contribute to the prosperity and stability of an economy. Besides, since students do not need to worry about their financial burdens, they can focus on their study and achieve better performance. For example, without any pressure, they can emphasise their favourite subjects such as philosophy and engineering. This strong focus might lead to scientific research successes in the future.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that making university education free has its pros and cons. From my perspective, the best option would be to charge a reasonable tuition fee for everyone to afford their study.