Some people believe that it is impossible to help everyone in need around the world. That is why governments should only focus on helping people of their own country. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion and relevant examples.

In recent years, there is a common belief that the governments should not help people in other countries as there are problems in their own nation. While there is a strong case for this viewpoint, I am more inclined to the view that we should try to support disadvantaged people regardless of where they live.

On the one hand, those in favour of this opinion may state their reasons as follows. The first and foremost explanation would be that in most communities, even the wealthiest, there are people who are impoverished and disadvantaged. For instance, while Da Nang is among the fastest growing cities in Viet Nam, there are still the homeless and disabled left uncared. As long as there are people locally available needing help, it is critical to prioritise local charity. A further reasons lies in social pressure which would force the governments to support its citizens first.

On the other hand, I find it more convincing to believe that we should take measures to help those living beyond our national borders especially developing or underdeveloped countries. First of all, in some countries, the problems they are facing prove to be much more serious. Take Africa as an example. Not only does this continent suffer from dangerous diseases, most of people living there are also on such a low income that they hardly make ends meet. Moreover, even a small donation provided by international organizations can create a meaningful impact on those in need. For example, people suffered the loss of family members due to natural disaster such as tsunamis and earthquakes are left with broken hearts. In this case, empathy is far more helpful than financial aid.

In conclusion, although it is true that we cannot help everyone all around the world, I believe that national boundaries should not stop us from helping those in urgent needs.