Some people say that computer games are bad for children by all means, others believe that these games are contributing to children’s development. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The issue of whether computer games have positive effects on users, especially juveniles, or not remains a source of controversy in recent years. While there is a strong case for the former view, I believe that they are more likely to exert detrimental impacts.

On the one hand, those in favour of video games may state their reasons as follows. The first and foremost explanation would be that they can be both entertaining and educational. Users, or gamers, are contended with the virtual world with more exciting and pastimes than the real life. These games can also encourage imagination and creativity, as well as other interpersonal skills. For instance, by playing stragegic games, children can develop logical thinking and problem solving skills, which will benefit them outside the gaming context. Moreover, simulation games can improve users’ quick response, especially in case of emergency such as fire.

On the other hand, I would advocate with those who contend that video games may create harmful influences on the youth’s development. Firstly, these games can be highly addictive. As game designers are constantly give scores, targets and frequent rewards to players in order to keep them playing. Consequencely, children spend a considerable amount of time achieving higher scores. A further impact of computer games would be juveniles may suffer from physical problems such as short-sighted and a lack of sleep. Finally, their exceeding reliance on computers leads them to ignore extracurricular activities resulting in a sedentary lifestyle which prevent them from contributing to the society.

In conclusion, although video games have some positive effects on people, especially the youth, I would argue that we need to take into account dangers involved in these games.