According to a recent study, the more time people use the Internet, the less time they spend with real human beings. Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world-wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction.

How far do you agree with this opinion?

In recent years, there is a phenomenon that many people, especially teenagers, spend a considerable amount of time surfing the Internet instead of real-life communication. While there are some arguments in favour of this lifestyle, I totally disagree with it for the following reasons.

There is no denying that using social network for a long period of time can make us become addicted, causing serious impacts on both emotional and physical health. For instance, an Internet addict is usually lonely, self-centered and unsociable. Besides, a person who spends a great deal of time in the virtual world tends to lose contacts with real people. This means that they do not have any peers or companions to share their feelings and understand their emotional issues.

Another rationale against excessively using computers would be a risk of losing interpersonal skills including the ability to directly communicate with other people. When being online, it is usually the case that Internet surfers use informal or even impolite languages, which may hinder them from communicating in an approaite manner in the real life. Besides, it is also impossible for an Internet addict to make face-to-face conversations as a result of being involved too much in the virtual world. Therefore, they tend to become shy, lonely and cannot talk to others, especially with those of different gender.

In conclusion, although it is true that the Internet itself brings massive advantages to human beings, I am more inclined to the view that we should cut down on the amount of time using the Internet and improve real relationships.