Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems.

Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

The accelerating rate of metropolitian population has become a matter of concern in recent years. Although there are some noticeable impacts of this phenomenon, measures can be taken to mitigate them.

To begin, the most detrimental effects of population growth is the worse living condition. As cities are filled with people, it is impossible to provide everyone with jobs and basic neccessities. A further impact of metropolitian overcrowding is the acceleration in the level of social evils. Since it is hardly for those on a low income to make ends meet, city dwellers have to take desperate measures, which might include illegal activities, to afford their lives. For instance, numerous ill manner behaviours such as vandalism and robbery can take place. This will also fortify the belief of the citizens that governments fail to ensure social security leading to social instability, causing social unrests and conflicts.

However, several actions that governments and citizens could be taken to solve the aforementioned problems. First of all, governments can impose laws on controlling birth rate, which has proved to be effective over the last decades in some countries such as China. A second measure which can be applied is illegal immigration deterrent. As more and more people from undeveloped areas move to fast-growing cities for better living standard even without permission of the Bureau, it is necessary to stop their action. Finally, the government should relocate business facilities and infrastructure to rural areas in order to attract citizens to countryside and relieve pressure for housing policies in cities.

In conclusion, although it is evident that rapid increasing population has inevitable harmful influences, various measures can be taken to tackle with this worrying issue.