Some people think that it is good for a country’s culture to import foreign movies and TV programmes. Others think that it is better to produce these locally.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, the issue of whether it is better for a country to purchase foreign movies or to create domestic ones remains a source of controversy. From my perspective, I personally believe that both types of movies are equally important to a country’s culture.

On the one hand, there are various reason why I support the view that a country with a variety of foreign movies and TV shows could be clearly beneficial in some peripheral views. Firstly, watchers are more likely to experience many great storylines of many international movies that are rarely seen in local films. As a result, local residents could have their minds broaden positively and movie directors can catch up with the latest trend of film procedure in other countries. Secondly, local citizens might adopt many reasonable habits and traditions of other countries deliberately through watching TV programmes to enhance their social system in terms of behavior and viewpoint. In fact, this could create a diversity of culture and customs in a specific land such as USA.

On the one hand, I also believe that local movies have positive impacts on its cinema goers. First and foremost, film made by local citizens would help to preserve traditions and customs of their own culture. For example, many Vietnamese TV programmes remind young generations of how people celebrate Lunar New Year which is the most important public holiday in Asian countries. Another rationale is that these regional movies are believed to the reservoir of the glorious past of a nation. Philosophically speaking, like a person clings to the past to reflect, views the present to enjoy and contemplates the future, a movie itself entails an inextricable link of these three times axes to revise, thrive and fly.

In conclusion, from my perspective, I find that it is important for a country to impose local and international films at the same time.