Some think that buildings should be constructed with functionality in mind, as it is more important than design. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Modern architecture has embarked upon various unique designs that give us the privilege of looking at various abstract structures around us. However, the principle of the shape of a building being primarily based upon its intended functions or purposes is getting lost somewhere in this flamboyance. This essay shall lay stress upon this issue further.

Architectural design values make up an important part of what influences architects and designers when they make their design decisions. As the technology, tastes and economies are rapidly changing, the need for new forms of buildings is being realized, giving way to modern architectural ideas. Some of these structures are really mind-blowing and have become the landmarks of the particular region. The Petronas Towers in Malaysia and the Burj Khalifa in Dubai are perfect examples for this. However, not all modern architectures have succeeded in their primary purpose – functionality.

Many of the modern architectural designs have failed to provide simple structural stability and functionality, in spite of being swanky and modish. We can quote Walt Disney concert hall in America as an example here. It has been complained to have been reflecting immense heat from the sun rays to the buildings nearby because of its structure. Another example is of the fully glass-paned Hancock Tower that was so feebly done, that the glass sheets started dropping out of the building and onto the road, creating a fatal situation for pedestrians underneath. The basic idea of these illustrations is to highlight the carelessness shown regarding the sturdiness of the building, in order to make it look contemporary and unique.

To conclude, I fully agree with the statement in the question emphasizing on the necessity of ‘form’ following ‘function’. The usefulness of a structure and its robustness should never be compromised for the sake of its grandeur and magnificence.