Some people think that it is good for a country's culture to import foreign movies and TV programmes. Others think that it is better to produce these locally. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have distinct perspectives about whether a country should purchase foreign movies and TV programmes or produce ones for its own. While the production of local movies and TV shows could bring several advantages, I would argue that it is better to import movies and TV programmes.

On the one hand, local movies and TV programmes benefit national culture in two important ways. First, by usually depicting traditions and customs, local movies could help to preserve traditional culture. Which is exemplified by many Vietnamese films which remind young generations of how people celebrate Lunar New Year, which is the most important festival in Vietnamese culture. Second, the local products would promote the national pride and patriotism of people by showing national beauties. For example, inhabitants will be proud of the beautiful landscapes or magnificent sceneries of their nation on television.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why a country should import movies and TV programmes. One reason is that while enjoying these foreign media, people could simultaneously learn and understand more about the world and its various cultures, then they could follow good things from more civilized countries and alter the way they behave. For instance, many Vietnamese people these days have stopped eating dog meat as western people do. Additionally, this understanding of other cultures becomes increasingly crucial in the current trend of globalization when many people have the chance to work or study abroad, which helps them be able to blend easier into the international community.

In conclusion, although local films and TV shows could be beneficial to some extent, I would argue that foreign ones contribute more to the culture of a nation.