Nowadays consumer goods are cheaper to buy. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Consumers in these days could buy cheaper items thanks to advanced technology in goods production and fierce competitions between manufacturers on the market. While I understand that the decrease in goods prices might have some drawbacks, I would argue that it has more benefits.

On the one hand, a reduction in goods prices has several disadvantages. First, because of lower prices, many companies managed to generate profits by excessively cutting their production cost, which might impair the quality of their products. For examples, manufacturers could reduce cost by purchasing raw materials of inferior quality or ignoring some vital steps in manufacturing processes. Second, in case the prices significantly go down, many companies, especially small and start-up ones, could suffer from serious losses, perhaps even go bankrupt. As a result, consumers’ choices are limited due to the decrease in the number of suppliers on the market.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why buying goods at lower prices benefits citizens. The first reason is that since goods prices are more affordable, impoverished families find it easier to make ends meets. If essentials items such as bread and vegetables remained high in price, the lives of poor families would become increasingly difficult. Additionally, spending less on consumer goods, citizens could save up more money to expend on other extra services, which undoubtedly help them enjoy more comfortable lives. For instance, last month I spent my savings on traveling to enjoy the stunning landscape of Bana Hill, which does really refresh me after days of stressful working.

In conclusion, while the decrease in good prices might have some disadvantages, I believe that its advantages are greater.