Many people think that increasing business and cultural contacts between countries is a positive development. However, others believe that these are leading to the loss of national identities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that the trend of globalization has led to an increase in business and cultural contacts between nations these days. While this tendency might cause national identities to disappear, I would argue that its positive sides are greater.

On the one hand, there are two reasons why some people think that increasing contacts could bring about a loss of national identities. First, as many young people in developing countries prefer western songs, films and TV shows than that of their own nations, they might become familiar with western cultures and gradually forget their own customs and traditions. Second, borderless commerce requires people to use international languages. Speakers of a minority language might stop using their mother language because this language does not give them a better job or a chance of promotion in career. As a result, some languages, the most outstanding identity of a nation, have lost.

On the other hand, the exchanges will benefit both individuals and nations. One reason is that cultural exchanges will help citizens to broaden their knowledge of cultural diversities around the world. Hence, they can find it easier to blend into the international community when they have the opportunity to work or study abroad. Additionally, global business is unavoidable, which benefits all nations carrying out economic transactions with each other. For example, the mobile phone giant Samsung from Korean has made a huge amount of profit since it started investing in Vietnam in 1996, and it has also benefited the host nation by creating thousands of jobs for local people.

In conclusion, although the growth of contacts in commerce and culture might make nations worldwide become more similar, I believe that it eventually brings more advantages to both individuals and nations around the world.