Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crimes, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishments.

Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Feasible methods to deal with the accelerating rate of crimes have become a highly debated topic recently. While inflexible sentences are plausible in some people’s opinions, others argue that changeable ones are preferable. From my perspective, I find it more convincing to believe that retributions should be partly based on the hidden agenda for law-breaking actions and criminals’ personal backgrounds.

On the one hand, there are various reasons why some people believe that making punishments irrevocable decisions can save a great deal of time and money. With this type of sanctions, prosecutors might not need to hire attorney for plaintiff and that jury trials ,which are extremely time-consuming, will no longer have jurisdiction in case of crimes. Meanwhile, a large portion of govermental investment can be prioritise to improve public facilities and infrastructure. For example, developed countries such as Japan, who have strict civil law, has emphasised the sience education of their own citizens. This strong focus has lead to scientific discovery fostering innovation and increasing productivity, which directly contributes to the prosperity and stability of the whole society.

On the other hand, I would advocate with those who contend that flexible sentences may bring some possible advantages. First and foremost, in some case, criminals are either lack of awareness or have mental issues. They probably need psychiatric treatments and proper education to fully understand their actions. This is often the case in teenagers as the accelerating rate of juvenile deliquencies is corrolated to the lack of parental guidance and supervisor. Therefore, they tend to commit illegal actions including vandalism and alcohol abuse. Another rationale would be that the peer pressure catalysing them desiring to try on new experiences even if it might lead to committing crimes. Finally, it has long experienced a history of cases where perpetrators plead for mercy and show regrets. In these case, capital punishment or death penalty is unecessary.

In conclusion, there have been many social unrests to solve the riddle of which approach is more beneficial for a nation. While there is a strong case for fixed sanctions, I am more inclined to the view that crimes should be considered in many aspects including the motivation for committing before returning a verdict.