As well as making money, businesses should also have social responsiblities.

Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the issue that besides having profit, enterprises should also have social responsibilities remains a source of controversy. While there is a strong case against this viewpoint, I personally think that both profit and public duties are equally important to the development of a company.

On the one hand, there are various reasons why I support the view that it is crucial for a corporation to make money. First and foremost, as long as enterprises earn profit, they can pay taxes. Simultaneously, the governments can have money to invest in infrastructure and facillities. For example, the authority can spend part of their tax revenue developing health centres and schools, which improves people’s living standards. Moreover, by earning money, companies can alleviate unemployment, which directly contributes to the prosperity and stability of the economy. This is due to the fact that since the enterprise has money, employees can be paid to feed their family.

On the other hand, I also believe that corporations should place great importance on their social responsibilities. Firstly, they should be aware of ecological protection since most of the industrial activities involve environmental degradation. For instance, businesses can use proper waste treatment systems to stop its detrimental effects on the ecosystem. Another rationale is that enterprises can also subsidize the community through charitable donations. They might be able to donate part of their profit in a green campaign to save threatened and endanger species facing high risk of extinction or build houses for the homeless.

In conclusion, from my perspective, I find that it is important for a company to earn turnover and fulfill social duties at the same time.