According to a recent study, the more time people use the Internet, the less time they spend with real human beings. Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world- wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction.

How far do you agree with this opinion?

In today's modern day, internet is a wonderful tool to keep in touch wherever we are. Many people are concerned about the impact that internet have on our lives. I stronghly agree with them, although internet has increased the level of communication, it also has detrimental effect on the quality of social interaction(that take place).

First, let us consider the benefit the internet have on our daily life. The internet usage has increased the level of communication. In the past communication was only possibile by phone or mail, wich entailed time and expensive. Nowadays, with the advent of the internet this has changed drammatically. Skype, Facebook and Instagram have created communities that are global in scale. For example, when my friend went to Australia, he was able to reassure his family using social networks sites.

Second, I sadly say that this has had negative impact on social interaction. People, especially younger generation, spend most of their time online, chatting and on forum. Although it can be beneficial, it is not the same as real interaction with human beings, because it doesn't involve the same skills. It is important that children have and mantain real friendship in order to develop their interpersonal skills. Internet can also have negative effect on local communities, people spend most of their freetime surfing the internet, withouth talking with their neighbourhoods.

In conclusion, I believe that internet have beneficial effect but there are many reasons to be concerned about social interaction in our society.It is important that we mantain a balance between our online life and our contact with human beings.