Many people do not care enough about environmental issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is sometimes argued that in modern society, a majority of global citizens are showing a lack of caring for the problems related to environmental protection. And in my opinion, I partly agree with the idea, as will now be explained.

On the one hand, I would contend that many individuals are ignoring environmental issues for several reasons. The first explanation is that traditional education mainly concentrates on subjects such as Mathematics, literature and score outcomes, not yet investing on educating students about the environment and its protection lessons. For example, the situation of indiscriminate littering, breaking branches, plucking leaves and not maintaining general hygiene is still very common among children, especially at small levels such as kindergartens and primary schools, high schools. As a result, they do not have a deep understanding of the importance of the surroundings, leading to being careless with this. Another reason is that inhabitants who are residing in poverty areas have many worrying problems like social crimes, education, food products, accommodation, deforestation and so on. So they do not have enough concern as well as worry about the environment.

On the other hand, I think that people still are interested in environmental problems. Firstly, global warming has detrimental impacts on our lives, always broadcasting on social media anytime and anywhere. To be specific, this phenomenon occurs due to human activities, primarily fossil fuel burning, which increases heat-trapping greenhouse gas levels in Earth’s atmosphere. Therefore, when human rights are affected, they will act to protect it. Secondly, with technological advancement, there are a variety of environmentally friendly devices such as solar panels, vehicles using electric and LED light bulbs. In addition, renewable energy is clean energy such as wind power, solar power, tidal power and it generates no emissions. So, these devices and products are becoming prominent in the market.

In conclusion, although reasons can be given to support that humans are showing little concern for the environmental problems, I still believe that people care about the environment because the environment plays an important role in developing the country as well as individuals.