Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are always arguments about going to university to get a degree or taking vocational training courses because of a shortage of skilled workers such as builders, electricians, and plumbers. That is why I believe that the number of people that graduate from university and manual workers should be equivalent.

There are several reasons why people want to pursue higher education. The first reason is that people with a degree can get better job opportunities and higher salaries. That is why recruiters favor candidates who have formal qualifications over those who do not. Besides that, some professions require a university degree as a minimum requirement, such as doctors, architects, and even teachers. For example, if medical graduates want to work in hospitals, they have to get a formal degree since the hospital cannot recruit doctors or pharmacists without professional expertise. Not only that, with a university degree, people have a chance to expand their educational background to gain a master's degree or even a doctor of philosophy.

However, I also believe that there are several reasons why more people should attend vocational training courses to improve the blue-collar workers. The first reason is that vocational courses can help find jobs faster for learners. Nowadays, the number of people choosing to study in university is too large, which has led to a very high rate of job competition after graduation. As a result, this has increased the unemployment rate. In contrast, apprentices have more job opportunities because of the few numbers of learners and the guarantee of jobs from vocational training centers. The next reason is saving the time of the apprentices. A vocational course usually lasts for around two years instead of four years like study academic in university. As a result, people can start working and earning money quickly. The last reason is that apprentices also play an important role in daily life. For example, if an area has a power failure but lacks man-workers, this will have a huge impact.

In conclusion, I believe that more people should be trained in professions in order to ensure the balance between university graduates and skilled workers such as plumbers or electricians.