Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you

agree or disagree?

The idea that people should pursue vocational training instead of academic study at university remains controversial. In my opinion, I partly agree with this idea.

On the one hand, nowadays, people tend to prioritize academic subjects over job training. From parent and school perspectives, students who excel at school curriculums mean good students. Moreover, they grade students’ abilities base on the marks during the examination without paying attention about their other potential and their future job. As a result, to deal with heavy schoolwork, students have no time left to consider about their hobbies and sharping their working skills. As a matter of fact, every year, there are thousands of graduates are unemployed, which burdens the economic development by accounting for a significant proportion in government benefits.

On the other hand, qualified workers should be trained academic knowledge besides career skills. Working skill is not the majority to consider for effective work. Pig farm workers, for example, they should understand about the role of biosecurity and the danger of infectious diseases occurring in the farm to handle and minimize the risk whenever the diseases happen. The result is uncalculated if the pathogen spreads all over the continent, affecting the imported and exported pig industry. In addition, to achieve a higher level in career ladder, skillful employees should have the robust foundation knowledge to adapt to changes. Any campaign conducted in a company is a result of careful consideration about affected aspects.

In conclusion, academic knowledge, along with working experiences, are critical elements for personnel’s job success.