Many people now undertake extreme activities, from hang-gliding to mountain climbing.

Why do people risk their lives in this way, and do you think this is a good trend?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Dangerous / Risky activities are now becoming quite popular and many people start engaging in these risky sports, for example, hang-gliding and mountain climbing. People participate in these extreme sports for several reasons. Despite the arguments against this practice, I believe this is a good trend.

There are reasons that more and more people are being attracted to extreme activities. First, people who are adventurous for example, climbing enthusiasts, take part in these activities as their hobby. They are always willing to try new things to challenge themselves and explore the limits of human abilities. The second reason that intense sports such as hang-gliding and mountain climbing become popular is that people are seeking a solution to reduce the stress after long hours of working. They want to have an invigorating experience which can be found in these dangerous activities. For example, people travel to the mountains not only to enjoy the view and relax but also to join in the activities such as bungee jumping, hang-gliding or even hiking in the jungles to experience new things.

However, I personally believe this is a good trend since such activities provide benefits not only for national economics but also for local people. Activities such as hang-gliding and mountain climbing are closely related to the tourism business which contributes to the economy of many developing nations. Consequently, profits will grow as the tourism’s service sectors grow as a result from higher demand for these activities. Furthermore, these extreme activities should be supported as it also ameliorates local living standards in terms of enhancing employment opportunities. Ha Long bay in Vietnam is a good example since it(comma splice error) has many dangerous caves, it requires a huge labor who familiar with the region not only to construct facilities to operate the business but also to organize and guide the tours. Therefore, it provides jobs for local people with a generous salary.

In conclusion, people take part in many extreme activities not only because of their interests but also to escape from working pressure. , I believe that extreme sports should be a good trend as it provides benefits for the whole economy as well as for local residents.