Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smartphone.

What do you think are the reasons for this?

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, with the advancement of technology, society has witnessed an exponential increase in the ubiquity of people using smartphones. As a result, many individuals turn to these types of technological gadgets as a medium of recreation. Although this could prospectively derive people from stressing themselves out temporarily, several problems may be lurking beneath this notion. In this essay, the reasons leading to this situation will be elucidated before giving any further conclusion.

To begin with, a major factor contributing to the escalating use of mobile phones is social media. Constantly updating news on an hourly basis and sending notifications to their users, these social media can stimulate the FOMO or 'Fear Of Missing Out' syndrome better than newspapers or other traditional information-delivering methods, which can have a profound impact on how people using their phones for relaxation. With engaging interfaces and user-friendly functions, it is a high possibility that people may constantly scroll through their feed to keep themselves well-informed.

Another reason for this could be courtesy of the general rules of an organization or company. In many situations, especially at workplaces, employees are only allowed to use their phones for personal use during break time. By virtue of this, the general physical and mental well-being of people might be affected on a large scale. Sleep deprivation or the inability to concentrate are some of the problems resulting from the aforementioned situation.

To recapitulate, as the world is increasingly provided with the latest technological inventions, more avocational time has been spent on utilizing these gadgets to get day-to-day news as well as catching up with one's relatives and family. Notwithstanding the benefits it brings, in my opinion, the drawbacks of this development outweigh the upsides.