Nowadays, due to the enormous development of technology and especially internet, people are having a tendency to communicate online instead of meeting in person. In my opinion, this trend has both benefits and drawbacks.

I think there are two main advantages of the rising in online communication. The first is people who choose to socialise online have more opportunities to communicate with people all over the world. Making global friends brings us significant benefits such as broaden our knowledge about other cultures, and also improve our language skill which might help us a lot in life or at work. The second advantage is that face to face communication may be limited by time and venue, while we can meet online everytime you want and everywhere you like, your own house, for example. This is really helpful for people who are so busy at work that cannot have freetime in the day to go outside their work spaces, therefore, online communication provides them flexible arrangement.

Despite the benefits mentioned above, socialising online also cause a lot of disadvantages. Firstly, this is not really safe for people communicate via the Internet, especially teenagers, due to the fact that hackers can easily steal your private information just by having an online chat or call with you. Secondly, gradually, people are being hesitated when they have to meet somebody in person, instead, they love to spend time staying at their home alone, this can lead to isolation, or even depression and other mental health issues. In short, we will have to suffer many serious problems if choosing online communication.

In conclusion, in my opinion, meeting other people via Internet has both benefical and detrimental effects that we need to balance.