In the present situation, the world is becoming more peaceful, compared to it hundred years ago. People are now arguing that governments worldwide should stop pouring national budgets on militaries. From the perspective of a pacifist, I totally agree with the idea of limiting expenditure on armed forces.

Speaking of military and weapons, I believe that there are plenty of reasons why money spent on them should be restricted. In this essay, I would discuss the prominent reason. I personally think that the significant amount of money used on armed forces could be transferred to other social purposes that benefit the citizen. For instance, the State budget can be used to improve the living standards for the population of the country. The most typical country which can support my opinion is North Korea, where a large number of their people are living in poor conditions, compared to their very neighbor, South Korea. I suppose that the expenditure, instead of using on arms, can be spent on building or improving infrastructure, or solving employment issues, or raising people's welfare, and so on.

On the other hand, I think governments pay a lot of money to the armed forces for several reasons. On top of it, the military is a vital protection force for a country. Although there is little war happening around the world these days, national sovereignty is of the most concern. The problem that occurred in Bien Dong can be considered as an example. Vietnamese military is responsible for protecting the maritime zones of Vietnam when China blatantly put its oil-shore in the sea outside its border.

In conclusion, spending money on armed forces can be a waste since the world is now a peaceful place. However, the military is an important part of a country and should be invested in a proper way.