The world today is a safer place and government should stop spending larger amounts of money on their armed forces. Do you agree or disagree?

Gone are the days when governments had to spent hefty sum of money on the military forces to either intervene or to fight against the other country in the world war. Speaking of which throws light into other sensitive areas where the government should look into to improve life standards of the society. It is agreed that in contemporary times, our globe is safe and authorities should stop spending capital amount to strengthen armed forces. Analyzing both attention required to overcome unemployment issues and to combat environmental disasters will show this.

Firstly, it must be remembered that providing protection on the borders does not help to uplift life standards. For example, as per recent survey by BBC, the unemployment ratio has soared dramatically from 8% to 30% in the last decade in Africa. Unfortunately, due to this, huge numbers of people cannot even afford basic needs of life. Thus, this makes it clear why the government should spend capital amount on creating job opportunities for their unemployed citizens rather than buying nuclear weapons for unforeseen wars.

Secondly, it is commonly known that the globe is presently suffering from environmental crisis and we have seen natural disasters such as storms, earthquakes, wildfires greater than ever. For instance, because of Tsunami in Japan during last monsoon, millions of residents not only lost their homes, but also their valuable belongings and loved ones. Needless to say, officials should spend the money in forecasting and fighting such natural disaster, so that people do not lose their shelter and kin in some cases. From this, it becomes quite evident that the government should spend money on technology which can forecasts unexpected natural fatal rather than investing on military forces.

In summary, we discussed critical areas which need the government's attention and prompt actions. Thus, it is clear that when the world today is a safer place, the idea of investing huge amount of money on buying nuclear weapons and making military forces stronger than other nations cannot be supported. As such, it is predicted that the negative sides of focusing and investing on atomic weapons will be forever stronger than negative ones.