Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be?Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

The preference and prevalence of non-domestic films have raised highly intense debate among the public. This article aims at elaborating upon the phenomenon, ascribing the industrialization of films to that. Therefore authorities should subsidize the domestic film industry.

The public attraction of films varied with time. Formerly, films, as same as other genres of art, were utilized by talented artists to express their attitudes, feelings, and opinions, when their masterpieces served for a tiny group of people with the same artistic inclination. As a result, those who adhered to the creators’ cultural background, namely domestic audiences, were willing to watch their films. Several years later, films had stepped down the alter of strict art, and generally became an entertainment of the populace. In this duration, films with gorgeous pictures and fabulous plots, and intriguing sounds could relax ordinary people who are immersed in the mundane grind. Hence, the film industry emerged and went ripe. Now that this form of film attracts all of the people, only can the best ones of which survive, such as Hollywood and Dream Factory. These developed film factories locate in some countries, and people in other countries have no choice but to watch foreign movies. In other words, they prefer the best movies rather than foreign movies. If the domestic film industry produced excellent movies, not only citizens in this country would watch the movies, but also people in other countries would fall in love with these masterpieces.

Given that the attraction of foreign movies attributes to the quality of movies, it is advantageous for governments to subsidize the domestic film industry to encourage and uphold its development. By that, governments can facilitate the production of attractive domestic movies and divert the public to them. Nevertheless, it must emphasize that the subsidy could be not instrumental, for the subsidy may hamper the advance of film factories and studios, who can feed them up by the financial support and lose their antennae, whereas laissez-faire policy and full competition are the essential reason of the success of extant film industry. Since that, any financial support of the domestic film industry should be under full consideration.