Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

There are indeed many people who prefer to watch foreign films rather than domestic productions. However, governments should promote locally produced films to generate more economic benefits.

There are various reasons why many people find international films to watch instead of products in their own countries. Firstly, in some developed countries, filmmaking is promoted dramatically by investing huge budgets for actional scenes, advanced effects, and spectacular locations. Hollywood blockbusters like Avengers are a typical example of such productions and its global appeal is undeniable. Additionally, some huge-scale film projects have an advantage in negotiating with famous actors or actresses. Therefore, poor quality, low-budget filmmaking in many countries is disadvantageous.

In my view, governments should support local film industries financially. In every country, there are always talented amateur filmmakers who only need to be given opportunities to prove themselves. If governments facilitate them, they could afford budgets for the salaries of film crews, accomplished actors or directors, and a nost of other costs related to producing high-quality films. This could lead to some significant economic benefits such as increased film sales and increased job opportunities. At the same time, promoting the national film industry could benefit governments by educating people proactively and preventing the loss of national identity and cultural heritage.

In conclusion, I believe that increased financial subsidies of governments could help to raise the quality of domestically produced films and allow them to compete with the foreign films that currently dominate the market. Lastly, this policy contributed significantly to the domestical cutural maitainance.