Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should the government give more financial support to local film industries?

In the ever-expanding options in entertainment film industry, people are able to choose whatever genere to watch. Nevertheless, preference on foreign films compared with locally produced films has aroused reflection and a debate whether government should pay more attention to local films in economic aspect. As far as I am concerned, apart from the difference on quality of films, cultural and economical effects cannot be overlooked.

Initially, the storytelling and artistic expression of a film have its essential importance, in which way foreign films exceed local films mostly. Originated from the foreign countries, the history of films industry is much longer in western fields, fostering a large number of experts and genius in every part of in industry. Therefore, the assembly-line production emerged, efforts from diverse department all contribute to a good film under technically experts, whether for its narrate or attracting special effects. Also the development of some companies have hooked a sum of audiences, such as Hollywood and Warner brothers. On top of that, local films fall behind on the quality of the films itself and its relatively less audiences.

Secondly, making a decision constantly affected by culture and economy. reasons. Foreign films do not conform to conventional regulation while local films strictly strain by policies, in which some topics concerning social issues have no space to express. Hence, people’s attention and interest on them drop. On the other side, financial support on films have a decisive impact. The preperation, shooting and cutting rely on finance, for instance, the buying of props, renting of a set and salaries of actors and backstage staff. In this case, governments should offer more financial support on this field so that local films can boost.

In conclusion, although foreign films excel on local films on its quality, content and appearance and individuals prefer to watch foreign films, cultural and economic reasons hide from it. Accordingly, with financial support and other helps, the day when people primarily tend to choose it to watch is not far away.