Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should the government give more financial support to local film industries?

With the advent of the highly information age, domestic and foreign film production is booming, but the current situation of domestic film development is not optimistic. Research data show that people are more inclined to watch foreign films rather than domestic films, which leads to the contraction of the domestic film market. There are many reasons for this.

First of all, foreign films are favored by the audience for their diverse themes and storylines, and the development of their stories is in line with the psychological expectations of the audience. Secondly, due to cultural differences and sense of identity, foreign films can bring different cultural experiences and perspectives to the audience. Audiences may be more likely to empathize with the characters and plots in foreign films, thus increasing their fondness for the films. Finally, foreign films are usually advertised and promoted on a global scale, and often have a larger market scale and competitiveness.They frequently win awards at international film festivals and receive more attention and praise. These factors may lead audiences to be more interested in foreign films.

Making a good film requires support from many aspects. The development of domestic films cannot be separated from the support of government funds, resources, policies and so on. At the same time, the domestic film itself needs to investigate the domestic market, improve its narrative strategy, and enhance its competitiveness.

In conclusion, it is evident that the current situation of domestic film development is facing challenges due to the preference for foreign films by audiences. However, there is hope for improvement if multiple parties work together towards a common goal to enhance domestic films’competitiveness and regain the attention and support of the audience.