Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films.

Why could it be?

Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

Comparing to the local produced film, foreign film have more quality of almost all elements including: more budget for action, special effect, spectacular location, famous actors or artist and many others. While, it is also accepted that the governments should give more fund to as to aid the local film industries.

In Indonesia, Hollywood and Bollywood films are more likely as the enchantment for teenagers since they offer more spectacular film stars and effect with some astonishing places. In contrast, local films due to the poor financial support try to only survive with limited episodes and less film’s apparatus. The foreign films’ budgets are more likely as omnipresent because they are more marketable to gain income from many international sources including multinational sponsorship, international audiences’ ticket, and broadcasting rights with immeasurable dollars. A 2014 BBC News said that Fast to Furious 4, the renowned Bollywood action film, spending more than 1 trillion US dollar in their launching, but the outcome were paid out with the earnings more than 10 trillion only from broadcasting rights and ticketing. While, 5 centimeter, an Indonesian film in 2014, although getting numerous appreciation from the private and governments and reaching the best seller in its launching, they earned only 7 million US dollars at that time.

On the other hand, Indonesian government should offer particular loan focus on improving the local film industries. The larger funds the nation offer, the faster growth will be, why could it be? The financial support can encourage the quality of film such as, taking some renowned places in Europa or USA, collaborating with Indian film stars, and buying the latest apparatus to improve the effect. A 2018 Compas News found that Bollywood enable to produce one film almost every day owing to the loan from the Indian government, it is called “soft loan” that provide more than 7 billion US dollars every year. The film “Dhoom 3”, having 9 million dollars from loan and being the best seller at that time, they also enabled to use various powerful action effects like Hollywood film, as a result, they get various award from international and Indian film award as the most spectacular film action.

To conclude, foreign films due to more budgets, high quality apparatus and some fabulous places are more marketable to get international respond compared to local film. As a result, the local film industries are being left behind, while the nation’s input can be taken as treatable step to figure out the challenge. In the long run, I think it will be impossible especially in Indonesia because it is in need of a large number of funds in US dollars.