Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subject like Science and Technology are more important than History.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Science and Engineering, the sophisticated intelligence, lead the significant impact to the development of humans’ challenge, recently have been deeply pursued by most college students, because they offer more opportunity to some prestigious jobs with well balance wages in the future. Others convince that Social Science can be also valuable domain, which is because of nationalism value.

Medical Science and informatics Engineering is today being issued since they played vital role to the humans’ life. Since being healthy is individual’s necessary, university’s students consider that medical major is the best option to get respectable job such as a doctor or nurse. In the same case, people begin to predict that massive markets will move to the digital world, as a result, a large number of students prefer to study computer science or informatics Engineering as to get marketable job with well paid salary. A 2018 Harvard University research found, Since the names of Mark Zückerberg (CEO of Facebook), Steve Job (CEO of Apple) being one of the richest chairman in the worldwide today, the number of informatics students rose significantly about more than 60 % because they offers more job opportunities with well paid salary. I believe that the trend will be upwards in the future because being skillful in those knowledge will aid to figure out the humans’ challenge.

One of the subjects, known as a History, getting today less respond from most students because they offer obscure job opportunities with less money. Some people believe that the Social Science is being learned just because of their importance related to the country’s history. How is about the job prospect and salary? Being a teacher, historian, archeologist with underpaid wages are some job opportunities offered by social science field. Robby Bahari, one of the Indonesian Historians, also the professor of History in Gadjah Mada University said that, in 2018, the number of social science students decreased to about 30 %. Based the on his research conducted on December last year, History due to the underpaid salary with average around 500 thousand rupiah (30 US dollars) as the main reason why most students are reluctant having no interest to this domain. I strongly believe that social science is about downward in the future if the government does not offers various job vacancies with well paid money.

To conclude, as science and technology is today as the principal knowledge to answer the development of humans’ challenge in 21st Century, these subjects offer more various job vacancies together with high amount of salary compared to social science. However, it is still essential to learn history as a part of nationalism. I believe that science and technology will be still dominance as a centered knowledge owing to more governments’ grant and various respectable job with higher salary.