Many people say that the only way to guarantee getting a good job is to complete a course of university education Others claim that it is better to start work after school and gain experience in the world of work How far do you agree or disagree with the

The question of whether pursuing higher education is the only sure way of getting a prestigious job has been highly debated. I strongly agree that obtaining a university degree is the prerequisite of landing a job in highly competitive fields as it provides the opportunity and knowledge needed to achieve this exploit.

First, the ability to get a job in a competitive field is strongly reliant on the opportunities available to applicants. A lot of these occupations, such as engineers, investment bankers, and financial analysts are commonly advertised through closed channels, such as through campus alumni networks and career centers at universities. This is often one of companies’ ways to ensure the quality of their applicants and limit the scope of their recruitment process. Thus, it can be difficult for people who did not study at university to even gain entry to these prestigious jobs as they had less access to the opportunities provided in higher education.

Finally, a lot of highly coveted positions, namely doctors, engineers, and scientists, need more advanced training compared to lower-skilled jobs. These so-called high-skill labor require not only extensive training, but also specialized knowledge that more often than not are only available at higher learning institutions. If an individual wants to become a doctor, for instance, they must learn things related, but not limited to, anatomy, physiology, chemistry, and even psychology. Knowledge on these subjects is nearly impossible to learn by oneself, without the resources and curriculum provided by universities. Furthermore, to become a doctor, one must first complete a hospital placement before being allowed to work in a hospital or open a practice. Similarly, jobs in engineering and science often have industry placements and internships as requirements of getting an offer.

In conclusion, to receive the opportunity of getting offered a prestigious position in elite fields, such as STEM and finance, it is crucial for individuals to possess access to information and specialized knowledge with deep training, things that are rarely found outside of higher learning institutions. If an individual would like to work in these fields, it is imperative for them to prepare accordingly and aim for a degree in a respectable university. As such, they can receive their chances to enter these fields and succeed in them.