Many people think that mobile phones should be banned in public places such as libraries, shops and public transport. Do you agree or disagree?

Whether cellphones should be banned in public places has always been in the center of discussions. Some people welcome cellphones, arguing cellphones are quite an aid for them while others concern the rings and buzzes of phones leave those public places unbearable. From my perspective, cellphones should be allowed in public sites.

Firstly, mobile phones has become part of people’s life which are too integrated to decouple them from people even in public places. Mobile phones nowadays functions quite crucially in every aspect of people’s lives. They work as a connection between people and their jobs, friends and families. If people are denied the freedom to employ their phones in such public places as museums, libraries or the like, they might miss some important information. Information is important. Examples abound, including a businessman have to be in tune with changes of market always and Missing out a piece of information might cost him to lose a chance to promote a deal which ends up quite a fortune. Therefore, it is not feasible to require people to divorce from their phones even in public places.

Secondly, mobile phones could be set to be mute in order to keep quietness of those public places. It is understandable that some people have the concerns that a phone disrupts the great atmosphere of a public place. For example, the sudden rings or buzzes of a phone ruin a mood to appreciate a film in a theatre or the attentions to crack a math problem in a library. However, a cure to what afflict those people is not to ban cellphone. Instead, concerns can be easily solved by public places setting strict rules. Rules include every electronic devices should be muted or a talk on the phone should be conducted in some certain regions of a public place. When a cellphone is muted, it is still functioning.Therefore people could still feel connected to the world and would not miss any information.

In conclusion, it is not practical to prohibit cellphones in all public places. Some strategies can be applied to mitigate people’s concern about the inconvenience that cellphones might cause to them.