Some individuals claim that hand-held phones ought to be prohibited in public venues including libraries, shopping centers, and public vehicles. This essay disagrees that using phones should be restricted in these places. This is unrealistic as some phone calls are urgent and every person has become reliant on phones.

Nowadays, every individual receives critical phone calls at least once in a while and they should be answered urgently. In other words, today, both personal and professional lives are highly dependent on mobile devices, through which people perform most of their tasks. Put simply, a phone conversation can be either regarding an accidental death of a loved one or related to an urgent issue at the workplace. For instance, the employees of the top management of most Sri Lankan industries work online, and therefore they need to respond to every call they receive. If they cannot be contacted anytime, it would be a big issue for their professions.

In addition, smartphones are increasingly being used for everyday tasks; therefore, people need them all day. Not only do people shop online, but they find routes to destinations, fix appointments, reserve tickets, and read books irrespective of where they are. Furthermore, students prepare for their exams and writers produce pieces of writing while they are on a bus. For example, in some Sri Lankan universities, reading materials are available only in digital versions. Therefore, citizens should have access to their phones everywhere.

In conclusion, this essay disagrees with banning mobile phone access at public places because of the urgency of some phone calls and the reliance of people on phones for their daily tasks.