Unemployment is one of the biggest problems of contemporary society What do you think are the main causes of unemployment What solutions can you suggest

Primary reasons are the ever-increasing global population and adopting more and more artificial intelligence in industries. Hence, to get rid of the matter, expansion of the workforce and incorporation of more human labor can be done.

With the rising population, all over the world, the demand for everything rises, and employment is not an exception in this regard. In other words, the competition for jobs increases day by day; however, the existing opportunities cannot meet the demand, thereby increasing the number of jobless people. According to the annual newsletter of the national labor department, unemployment has risen by 60% over the last 10 years in Sri Lanka. In addition to the uncontrolled growth of the population, the growing number of robots in industries fires employees leading to unemployment. Put simply, a considerable number of jobs, which can be done by humans, are performed by machines. This is supported by recent research conducted by Oxford University, in which they claimed that 70000 people aged 25 to 30 lost their jobs in 2020due to the installation of machines.

In terms of a solution, the current job market should be expanded to compete with the increasing number of jobless individuals. This can be achieved by increasing the production of food and other essential items, which is capable of solving both unemployment and other needs of the growing population. Farming, for instance, is a good example, whereby a large number of people can be provided with a career opportunity. Not only does the expansion of the workforce, but the replacement of robots with manual labor would also be a good solution. For example, most of the tea factories in Pakistan have switched to manual packing by absorbing a lot of youth without compromising efficiency.

In conclusion, losing jobs has become a deteriorating problem worldwide. The principal elements of this problem are the rising population and artificial intelligence. As solutions, creating more opportunities and depending on humans can be done.