Many people think that some individuals are naturally good leader. Others think that people can learn leadership skills. Discuss both views.

Since leadership is an essential quality to become successful, there are many debatable arguments related to whether this quality only belongs to the gifted or individuals who can learn it. In my opinion, while many people are indeed born to have this quality, others can also turn themselves into good leaders through skills.

Being a talented leader requires some skills that are hard to achieve through practices or training. To be more specific, having a strong voice that can convince and inspire audiences is a gift that not everyone can possess, however, can attract people’s attention. A good appearance is also an aspect that can not be compensated by learnings, but a bonus point when a person wants to get good impressions. Because of that, people being fortunate to have these gifted are more likely to become leaders. For instance, Alexander the Great is documented to have a great voice that can inspire his soldiers when coming to war. Besides that, being a good looking man helps him easily to negotiate with his counterparts and alliances.

However, these aforementioned attractions would gradually fade out, because good leadership demands more experience and skills to handle humans and resources which only can be got from learning. To begin with, the experience is essential for leaders to deliver orders quickly and reliably, therefore, it requires leaders to learn and be involved in various difficulties to get that. Besides, people can learn body language through practices to make themselves confident, which helps to gain trust from followers. Therefore, by learning these skills, people can turn themselves to be good leaders without being gifted. As an example of a self-training leader, my father has practiced many times before any presentations and gone through a lot of adversities to get lessons and knowledge. Finally, he becomes the executive director of an international company.

In conclusion, despite many natural leaders who are gifted to have qualities that are unlikely to be possessed by the majority of people, ordinary people can also make themselves talented leaders through learning skills.