Many people think that students should be allowed to choose the subjects that they study in school, whereas others feel that they should study a set curriculum.

An increasing concern for many people around the world is whether the students should have the freedom to choose the subjects they want to study in schools or they have to follow a fixed curriculum. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the argument and provide my overall opinion.

Generally speaking, there are a variety of reasons why people believe that students should choose what they would like to study. However, it is well worth noticing that students will be more interested in the coursework if they have chosen their subjects. If a student is interested in a subject, he would perform better than expected. However, if he is studying a subject that he hates, most probably he will get bored and even depressed.

Despite these arguments, many people feel that students who are forced to attend classes of the subject they do not like may distract their classmates who are interested in the subject. Perhaps the main argument in support of this idea is that some subjects are fundamental and cannot be left optional. For example, basic mathematics subject is essential for all students. If a student does not know how to perform basic calculations he will struggle for the rest of his life.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that students should be given some control over what they would like to study because this would encourage them to be more independent in their studies. However, the essential subjects should be a mandatory part of the curriculum.