Many people today are worried about the large quantities of waste produced by ordinary households.

What problems are caused by household waste, and what solutions may be possible in both the short and the long term?

No one can deny the fact that all households have produced waste in many countries these days. The scientists said that garbage from normal households had made up more than 60 % of the total garbage over the world. Therefore, the increasing volumes of domestic waste over recent years present a challenge for all of us. There seems to be 3 main problems stemming from this situation , and also 2 steps we could take to tackle it fully.

Possibly, the most important problem is environmental pollution. Household waste comprises many elements ranging from foodstuffs to metal, paper and plastics. When people discharge rubbish directly into the environment without safe recycling remedies , it will profoundly far-reaching devastate both flora and fauna. Global warming, greenhouse effect, flood, drought, water contamination …. are the results of domestic refuse. Secondly, litter is also the culprit damaging people's health by causing various diseases and illnesses : high blood pressure, cancer… In addition, local authorities sometimes struggle to handle the huge question of how to collect, process and dispose of this material . The historical solution has been incineration or landfill, but the problems of expenses which arise have led to discontinuation. This leads to the third concern, which is finance : the high cost of disposing of refuse in an ecologically sound manner.

In terms of possible solutions, probably the most short-term solution would be to raise the level of public standing for recycling wastes instead of throwing these things away. This would reduce the environmental impact of the waste by recycling paper pulping, plastic bags, reusing plastics…. and also celebrate a campaign of education as a long-term solution. A further, longer-term solution might be to divert far more government funds into waste processing and recycling facilities . If reinforced by incentives for consuming less and penalties for excessive waste, it will help protect the community .

Overall, the major problems include the environment, finance and people's health. The possible solutions involve more immediate investment in facilities, and also encouraging long-term changes in household behaviour.