Many people today, especially in the developed world, are choosing to have fewer children, or none at all.

Why is this happening, and do you think it is a good trend?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

It is worth pointing out that modern people, particularly dwellers of developed nations, have a tendency to give birth to a diminishing number of children. Some of them even choose not to have children. From my point of view, this social pattern results from various motivations and should be considered advantageous.

On the one hand, there is a variety of justifications for having fewer or no children. The first and foremost explanation is connected with the financial situation of modern families. It goes without saying that raising a child may be costly, especially in such a materialistic world that people are living in. Therefore, an increasing number of people are made up their minds to have fewer new-born so they can afford to have the child's comprehensive development. Another reason is in terms of health. People nowadays are late marriages and, therefore, late birth-givers. The aforementioned late childbirth often affects maternal fertility, leading to many congenital diseases for the baby. Down syndrome can be a dangerous case in point. Hence, many modern parents choose not to have or have fewer babies to protect the health of themselves and their children.

On the other hand, this can be believed to be a beneficial trend. Regarding the societal aspect, overpopulation is undoubtedly one of the most nerve-wracking issues these days. By having fewer or no children, people can effectively tackle this hassle as they are contributing to reducing the world's population and easing the burden on the government. On a personal level, having fewer children is synonymous with parents may have more time and affection for them. This can be the premise for these children to grow up to be better residents. By way of exemplifying, Families in some Asian countries, such as China or Vietnam, are encouraged to have only one or two children for "better rearing. "

In conclusion, having fewer or zero offspring are the direct consequence of late marriage and monetary issues, which are very prevalent in modern families. Then, it can be a good trend as it is an efficacious action for the overpopulation and it also enhances the quality of upbringing children, which latter allow them to grow to be better citizens