Many people today, especially in the developed world, are choosing to have fewer children, or none at all.

Why is this happening, and do you think it is a good trend?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

It is believed that the majority of humans do not want to have many children or prefer to be childfree. This trend is more appropriate for developed countries. In my opinion, it will have negative consequences on the population of the world, however, the danger of overpopulation will not exist anymore.

On the one hand, having fewer children will have a negative effect to the humanity. Firstly, people will face that the majority of the world population will be pensioners, who are not able to work. Developed European countries, for instance, are often called Old Europe, because more than 50 percent of their population are elderly people. That is why nowadays there are a lot of migrants from the developing or even not developed states. Therefore, the population of the developing countries will replace developed one. Secondly, some cultures and nations might disappear, because of the low population. Finally, it is reverse to the human being, because people do not give a new life and the ability to give birth may distinct. It means that people stop to exist anymore.

On the other hand, this trend will reduce the risk of overpopulation, because the maximum quantity of people in the world must not exceed 8 milliards. In other words, the human will have a chance to live and have enough food and water. For example, it is known that only 1 percent of all water is suitable for drinking. Moreover, about 30 percent of world population suffers from hunger, because of food scarcity. Therefore, having fewer men in the world will help to safe the good life in the Earth.

To conclude, nowadays young man from the developed states prefer to be childfree or have just one of two kids. There are some negative possible consequences, they are a lot of elderly people, disappear of humanity. The decreasing of the population may help to provide a better life.