Many people use distance learning programmes to study at home but some people think that it can not bring the same benefits of attending college or university. To what extend, do you agree or disagree?

Recently, it is fairly common for people to study at home because of the development of technology, but some people argued that it can not give students similar advantages of enrollment in tertiary education. This essay agrees with this opinion because online study can not bring the best outcomes for learners and they will not have opportunities to practice essential soft skills which are crucial for their employment in the future.

Interactive learning is the most effective method to obtain knowledge and skills for students. This is because that in-class learning helps learners understand lectures quickly by communicating directly with teachers in classrooms. Besides, they can engage with other peers to discuss learning subjects so they can easily complete assignments and get the results in a shorter period. Students also will have a greater motivation to study in a team than study alone. For example, the University of Guelph reported that students who attend classrooms can finish their degrees at least 2 years faster than online students, and they always achieve higher marks.

Furthermore, online programs can not offer students practical and professional skills that can learn in universities or colleges only. Teamwork, laboratory experiments, debate or presentation skills, and team spirit only can practice if students engage in a specific class at school. This is the biggest disadvantage of e-learning because learners will become less competitive in the job market in the future due to the lack of these important soft skills. A research of the University of Oxford revealed that 60% of undergraduates in distance learning programs can not get jobs in their professionals while this percentage is far less in full-time students.

In conclusion, although online learning can bring some benefits to learners, conventional learning in universities or colleges is still an all-round education for students to achieve the best results and become qualified employees in the future.