The number of people shifting to rural area for residential purpose due to space constraints in cities is becoming increasingly common. Many people opine that it is not ideal to build new houses in the countryside because it can damage the natural habitat for many animals and farming. This essay will discuss and provide evidence on why I believe it is important to protect the countryside.

It is a known fact that rural regions are rich in different types of animals and insects. Construction of new buildings in rural areas can destroy the natural ecosystem of the region. One good example for this is the catastrophic soil erosion that happened in the year 2018 in Kerala, where the major cause for this was found to be the illegal constructions on the hill regions. Although all humans were rescued during this unfortunate calamity, troll amount of animals died. Hence building houses in rural areas can have negative impact on the natural ecosystem.

In addition to this, if people construct buildings in the rural areas, farming will be destroyed. Soil in countryside is not only rich in minerals required for farming but also free from soil pollution. Therefore, there is a possibility that the construction of houses in these farmlands can lead to soil pollution that in turn might interrupt the growth of crops in these regions. This phenomenon can be witnessed in any region where urbanization happened. Hence, acquiring these farmlands for construction purpose can destroy the cultivation.

In conclusion, people are moving to countryside in search for houses due to lack of space in urban areas. People oppose this idea as it not only destroys the natural ecosystem but also adversely affects the farming in the region. In my opinion it is imperative that people preserve these naturally rich geographical regions.